/Major League History
Major League History 2018-02-19T23:04:21+00:00

Major League History

In 1860, the American Professional Baseball settled into people’s sport nationwide beginning with the Cincinnati Red Stockings (Cincinnati Reds), the first Pro League founded in 1869.

In 1875, the National League was established at the meetings of Baseball Club delegations in Louisville, Saint Louis and etc.

Due to an increase of baseball fans, a new league called the American Association was formed in 1882, which began to compete with the National League. Based on this, American League was founded in 1901, and since then, today’s two league system of the National League and the American League had begun.
For the first time in 1903, a World Series took place between the winning teams between both leagues.

The first All-Star Game, also called the Fulfillment of Dreams, was held in 1933, and in 1936, the Hall of Fame was established where 5 players, such as Tyrus Cobb, Babe Ruth and etc. had an honor to be inducted. The Free Agent system, adopted since 1975, is a free contract system where a player with more than 6 years of experience in the Major League can sign a contract with a baseball club he so chooses. The practice resulted in soaring annual salaries due to abolition of the salary cap in 1980 and the promotion of players’ rights along with the formation of union in 1953.

Due to the negotiation derailments in 1981, 1994 and 1995, the strikes put the games on hold.

The formations of new clubs in 1995 led to a reorganization of the Division (regional groups in a League), so 2 divisions in a league expanded into 3 divisions.

A wild card system was also introduced into the NFL (National Football League for advancing to playoffs.

In 1997, the Interleague system was introduced where teams of different leagues compete with each other.

In 1998, there were expansion teams that formed into the current system, such as the Arizona Diamondbacks and the Tampa Bay Rays (Tempa Bay Rays). Both teams joined the National League and American League respectively with the Milwaukee Brewers moving to the National League.

error: Content is protected !!